tHE BUILDING

The story starts when George Whitefield, a preacher, provided £20 to John Cennick, a local preacher, to construct a meeting house, with the instruction that it was not to be “too large or too handsome”. By early 1742, the meeting house was open for use. From May 1743, John Cennick established a free school there for the children of local colliers.  

Throughout its history, the Tabernacle has been known by several names and has served multiple purposes. It functioned not only as a schoolroom and church but also as a base for the local Home Guard, a sorting office for Christmas mail, and a polling station. It also provided a home for various youth organizations, with neighbours recalling their time attending as Guides, Brownies, and members of the Boys’ Brigade.  

The original Tabernacle was extended in 1802 and 1830 to accommodate a growing congregation. In 1850, due to the need for more space, work commenced on a large Gothic-style church, completed in 1851 and converted into flats in 2022. This 1851 building, known as the ‘Masters Church’ (named after architect Henry Masters), was used by the Whitfield United Reformed Church until 1983. At that point, with reduced membership, they returned to using the original Tabernacle.  

By 1992, the Tabernacle had deteriorated significantly, forcing the congregation to merge with the United Church on Regent Street and put the Tabernacle site up for sale. This led to 30 years of decline, turning a historically important building into a ruin.  

The Story of the Tabernacle

The Tabernacle is more than just bricks and mortar; it's a living testament to Kingswood's rich and complex past and the enduring spirit of its people who have shaped this community over centuries. Built in 1741, the Tabernacle has witnessed remarkable transformations, serving as a sanctuary, a schoolroom, a focal point for social reform, and now, a vibrant hub for creativity and community engagement.

restoring the tabernacle for a new generation

The Whitfield Tabernacle Trust was formed in 2017 with the aim of saving the Grade I listed Tabernacle and converting the former eyesore into a useful building that could serve the local community, and tell the story of the 18th Century preachers who transformed Kingswood through their faith and their compassion.

You can find out more about the restoration here

PHASE II

We hope to open the doors in 2026, providing an attractive building that can be used as a performance venue and exhibition space, including a café and meeting rooms.  We also look forward to South Gloucestershire Council realising their plan to convert the former graveyard into a ‘pocket park’.